CBS 2 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

USHL: Black Hawks Rout Ice to Force Game 5

INDIANAPOLIS, IN -- The Waterloo Black Hawks return to Young Arena with the chance to win the Clark Cup, thanks to a 7-2 road victory against the Indiana Ice on Saturday at Pan Am Arena during  Game Four of the USHLs Championship Series.

Despite the big margin of victory, the Ice controlled the first period.  A neutral zone turnover created the first goal of the game at 2:14.  Joshua Jacobs crossed the Waterloo line and drove a shot off of Cal Petersen into the net.  Five minutes later, Blake Winiecki sprang Tyler Sheehy for a breakaway goal.  Sheehys shot cleared the glove of Jason Pawloski at 7:28.  However, Indiana reassumed the lead at 9:47, when Mitch Hults converted a power play chance with a wrist shot from the left circle.

Zach Sanford turned the game permanently in Waterloos favor with a pair of second period goals.  Jake Hortons touch pass at the top of the crease left Sanford with an open side for an equalizing goal at 3:10.  Then during a power play at 8:25, Liam Pecararos shot from the right point was redirected into the net by Sanford, standing inches outside the blue paint.

The Hawks eventually broke the game open during the third period.  Tim Lappin put the puck into the crease during a goal mouth scramble and it wound up in the net at 6:39.  Three minutes later, Brandon Montour received a drop pass in transition and snapped a shot past Pawloski, ending the Indiana starters night.  Pecararo drove a shot past relief netminder Hayden Stewart at 12:07.  Then with no one in net for Indiana, Patrick Russell nailed down the decision at 18:17.

Petersen turned away 36 shots during the contest for his tenth career postseason victory.  The Hawks were outshot 38-28.  Pawloski made 15 stops, leaving six for Stewart.

With the victory, the Black Hawks extended the series to a fifth game at Young Arena Tuesday.  The winner-take-all-matchup will begin at 7:05 p.m.

Advertise with us!
Brought to you by:
Brought to you by:

Washington Times

Sponsored content