CBS 2 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

CFB: Hawkeyes Release 2014 Leadership Council

IOWA CITY, Iowa - - The University of Iowa football program has named 12 players to the 2014 Leadership Group.  Head coach Kirk Ferentz announced the group Monday.

The group for the upcoming year includes five seniors, three juniors, two sophomores and two redshirt freshmen.  The purpose of the group is to help formulate policies and enter into team decision-making matters regarding the upcoming season.  Players are selected by a team vote.

Our entire team, by class, has done an outstanding job of naming quality representatives to this group, said Ferentz.  I look forward to visiting and working with this group in the coming weeks and throughout next season.  Their leadership plays an important role in our programs success."

The five seniors are LB Quinton Alston, DL Carl Davis, OL Brandon Scherff, DT Louis Trinca-Pasat and RB Mark Weisman.  The juniors include OL Austin Blythe, DB Jordan Lomax and QB Jake Rudock.  The sophomore class is represented by QB C.J. Beathard and OL Ryan Ward, and the redshirt freshmen named to the group include LB Josey Jewell and OL Sean Welsh.

The 2014 Hawkeye Leadership Group includes:

Quinton Alston        LB        Senior             Sicklerville, N.J.

C.J. Beathard           QB        Sophomore     Franklin, Tenn.

Austin Blythe           OL        Junior             Williamsburg, Iowa

Carl Davis                DL        Senior             Detroit, Mich.

Josey Jewell             LB        R. Freshman   Decorah, Iowa

Jordan Lomax          DB        Junior             Upper Marlboro, Md.

Jake Rudock             QB        Junior             Weston, Fla.

Brandon Scherff       OL        Senior              Denison, Iowa

Louis Trinca-Pasat    DL        Senior              Chicago, Ill.

Ryan Ward                OL         Sophomore      Homer Glen, Ill.

Mark Weisman          RB        Senior               Buffalo Grove, Ill.

Sean Welsh               OL         R. Freshman     Springboro, Ohio

Advertise with us!
Brought to you by:
Brought to you by:

Washington Times

Sponsored content