CBS 2 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

Hawkeye Football Player Named to Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List

   University of Iowa senior linebacker James Morris has been named to the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List.
   The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is given to the National Defensive Player of the Year as selected by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America. Morris is one of 27 linebackers named to the list. 28 linemen and 26 defensive backs were also selected.
   Morris has been a starting linebacker for the Hawkeyes since his true freshman season in 2010. Last season he ranked third in the Big Ten and 31st in the nation in tackles per game (9.4). He ranks 16th in career tackles (293). He was named a Permanent Team Captain in 2012 while earning the Hayden Fry "Extra Heartbeat" Award and the Players Choice Award on defense. Morris earned honorable mention All-Big Ten honors as a sophomore and junior after being named Freshman All-America by as a freshman.
   The native of Solon, Iowa, is also on the Bednarik Award and College Football Performance Awards Linebacker Watch Lists for this season.
Advertise with us!
Brought to you by:
Brought to you by:

Washington Times