Weather Alert


A Heat Advisory is in effect through 7:00 p.m. High temperatures will be in the upper 80s and lower 90s. Humidity will be high and will push the heat index between 95-105 degrees.

CBS 2 Local Sports

CBS 2 Local Sports

text size

CFB: Carl Davis Named to Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List

Updated: Thursday, July 10 2014, 11:51 AM CDT
IOWA CITY, Iowa -- University of Iowa defensive tackle Carl Davis has been named to the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List. Davis is one 81 Division I players nominated for the award, which is presented to the national defensive player of the year. The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) released the watch list Thursday.

Davis, a 6-foot-5, 315-pound senior defensive tackle, garnered second team All-Big Ten honors from league coaches last season following a campaign that was highlighted by a combined 42 tackles. His 2014 preseason honors include fourth-team All-America and first-team All-Big Ten by Athlon Sports, and third-team All-America and second-team All-Big Ten by Phil Steele. He is also on the Outland Trophy Watch List, presented to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman.

The FWAA will choose a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season and, in conjunction with the Charlotte Touchdown Club, announce five finalists for the 2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 20. The winner will be announced Dec. 8 at the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet in Charlotte, N.C.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2014 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's entire membership, selects the 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

Founded in 1941, the FWAA consists of the men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA also sponsors scholarships for aspiring writers and an annual writing contest. Behind the leadership of President Kirk Bohls and Executive Director Steve Richardson and a board of veteran journalists, the FWAA continues to grow and work to help college football prosper at all levels.

The Hawkeyes open the 2014 season at home against Northern Iowa on Aug. 30 inside Kinnick Stadium. Tickets are available for purchase by contacting the UI Athletics Ticket Office at (800) IA-HAWKS and online at

CFB: Carl Davis Named to Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List

Advertise with us!

Related Stories

Advertise with us!

Ed Thomas Coach of the Week

Faith, Family, Football. Words of Inspiration from the Coach Ed Thomas Foundation. CBS 2 and FOX 28 in partnership with the Eastern Iowa Airport are looking for coaches who embody the spirit of Coach Thomas by having a strong impact on the community and on the sidelines.

Nominate your favorite coach from any sport in the form below.
Please re-enter the code shown in the image below.