Top Stories

Top Stories

text size

Federal Declaration Requested for 9 IA Counties

Updated: Tuesday, July 8 2014, 05:39 AM CDT
DES MOINES, IA (AP) -- Gov. Terry Branstad has requested a presidential disaster declaration for nine Iowa counties affected by recent severe weather.
   Branstad addressed President Barack Obama in a letter Monday and requested the declaration for counties affected by winds, hail, rains and thunderstorms between June 3 and June 4. Branstad says more requests are possible.
   The severe weather in early June resulted in three state disaster proclamations. Branstad says damage assessments were conducted later in June.
   The counties under the declaration request are Adams, Clarke, Decatur, Mills, Montgomery, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Taylor, and Wayne counties.

2014 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published,
broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Federal Declaration Requested for 9 IA Counties

Advertise with us!

Related Stories

See It Loading...
Advertise with us!
Sponsored content